Daring Bakers / Dessert / Pastry / Sweet / Uncategorized

April Daring Bakers!

This month’s challenge was probably my favorite as of yet. The challenge was to make an edible container holding a maple mousse. Mmmm. I thought about the challenge for a couple of days thinking of how I could use the bacon idea in a different shape, maybe a bacon canolli, or bacon cream horn, but the bacon and dessert idea was turning out to be too cliche and ‘kitschey’.

Meanwhile, I had been playing around with candied Rhubarb at work as a garnish for the Strawberry Rhubarb Galette…see the wheels beginning to turn….A candied Rhubarb Tuile Maple Mousse!

And look what I had to work with:

 HUGE Rhubarb!

First I made rhubarb strips, then let them simmer in an equal parts simple syrup.

Then I shaped them into bigger sections by layering them on top of each other. I baked these for about 20 minutes at 200 degrees just until they were dried together. I also made a tuile batter for the back of the rhubarb strips. I wish I could have made them without the tuile, but in order for the outside to stay crisp it needed a barrier between the mousse and the dried rhubarb.

The rest was pretty simple. the rhubarb behaved just like the tuile did. I baked them and shaped them while still warm around a lightly greased glass. Later I made bottoms for the tuile cups out of the same batter.

To fill the cups was the maple mousse, and to top it all off a Basalmic Gastrique



The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blogCheap Ethnic Eatz. Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container. Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

3 thoughts on “April Daring Bakers!

  1. Please prepare 4 coffees and 4 servings Rhubarb Tuile Maple Mousse
    for us this Saturday at 8 PM. We will be dazzled I am sure. Reservation under the name Patty.

Leave a Reply

