Daring Bakers / Dessert / Pastry / Sweet / Uncategorized

Daring Bakers June Challenge!

Again I am just barely posting this on time, and again I thought I wouldn’t be able to get to it. Last night was the June Wine Dinner at the farm, so the dessert planning has mentally distracted me the last few days. I did a Neapolitan Baked Alaska with a Strawberry Parfait, Vanilla Meringue, on a Chocolate Genoise Sponge. It was delicious! But this is not about the Neapolitan Baked Alaska, this is about BAKLAVA!

Erica of Erica’s Edibles was our host for the Daring Baker’s June challenge. Erica challenged us to be truly DARING by making homemade phyllo dough and then to use that homemade dough to make Baklava.

I wish I could remember the first time I had Baklava. It’s one of those desserts that is just different from all the cakes, cookies, and bars. If you look up baklava videos you will find some really amazing Turks perfecting the whole process with HUGE portions of phyllo dough. It is gorgeous. The dough starts out in a ball and ends up getting stretched as thin as newspaper. Then layered with butter, more phyllo dough, and bright green ground pistachios.

My process was not so much beautiful, very floury and tasty though.  The stretching of the dough is the worst (I mean best) part. When making a huge piece of dough all you need is a big table and another person to help you stretch, which I suppose you could do for the baklava and just cut it into pieces…this is the smarter decision. Let’s just say that you are by yourself in a tiny kitchen, with no big table. You might have to resort to stretching individual pieces of dough. Lots of really thin pieces of fragile dough. You might end up with a mess like this one:

But then you might end up with some baklava like this:

YUM!

Link to recipe!

5 thoughts on “Daring Bakers June Challenge!

  1. This looks crazy, insanely DELICIOUS! Great job on the challenge! I always say, what’s the fun in cooking when you can’t make a mess? =) And thats why I keep my hubs around–to clean ;) LOL

    I’m a new follower to your blog–looks adorable and can’t wait to look around! Would love for you to stop by as well. “see” ya soon!

Leave a Reply

